Symphony No 1

Symphony for large orchestra, choir, and soloists, with texts about human spirituality

Instrumentation: Picc/2 (2nd doubling picc)/2/Cor/Eb;2 Bb/Bass Cl/2/Bass/4/2/3/Tuba/Harp/Celeste/Piano Percussion(5)/Strings; SATB Choir (with divisions); Soprano & Baritone soloists.

Duration: Movement I - 23’; Movement II - 8’; Movement III - 15’; Movement IV - 4’; Movement V - 20’.

Date of Composition: 2017/2019


Texts:   Lines have been chosen from texts by Spinoza, RS Thomas, Rilke, Larkin.

Movement I: Spinoza; RS Thomas; Rilke.

Movement II: RS Thomas; Rilke.

Movement III: RS Thomas

Movement IV: Larkin (The Trees)

Movement V: Rilke; Pavese - Agonia (trans - Duncan Bush)

  © Brian Noyes 2014